History of Cyprus
Some Brief History on Cyprus!

Cyprus is an island country located in the Mediterranean Sea. 

The island was in an ideal location between many of the Eastern and Western empires. 

As a result, the island was part of many great ancient civilizations including Ancient Egypt, Persia, Ancient Greece, and the Roman Empire throughout its history. Starting in 364 AD, Cyprus was ruled for 800 years by the Byzantium Empire. 

Beginning in the 12th century, the island changed hands several times until it came under control of the Ottoman Empire in the 1500s. 

In 1878 Great Britain took over the island and made it an official British colony in 1925. 

In 1960 Cyprus gained its independence from Great Britain. However different factions in the country could not get along. Starting in 1974, Cyprus has been divided into two sections. 

One side is controlled by the government and the other by Turkish Cypriots.

Greek is spoken in the south and Turkish in the north. There is a buffer zone between the two sides where the United Nations keeps a peacekeeping force. 

Despite this odd situation, the island of Cyprus became a member of the European Union in 2004.